updatewim show error

This forum discusses topics about the Ultimate Deployment Appliance

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

updatewim show error

Postby serp2002 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:28 am

I try to configure linux server for network win7 install by that manual: http://www.ultimatedeployment.org/win7pxelinux3.html
and can't create winpe.wim file.

when i do /work/bin/updatewim /work/sambashare/win7/sources/boot.wim /work/tftproot/winpe.wim /work/wim/actionfile.txt
i got error:

Renaming file //setup.exe to setup.new
Renaming file //sources/setup.exe to setup.new
Adding file //windows/system32 to winpeshl.ini
Adding dir //sources to new
Adding file //sources/new to install.cmd
Opening output file
Copying resources
Adding file resource for //windows/system32
ERROR: Could not open file //windows/system32

in actionfile.txt:
rename //setup.exe setup.new
rename //sources/setup.exe setup.new
add //windows/system32 winpeshl.ini
mkdir //sources new
add //sources/new install.cmd

i exclude drivers, but it must work without.

what i do wrong?
serp2002
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:02 am

Re: updatewim show error

Postby tblancher » Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:09 am

I found a workaround for that error. Apparently the directory //windows/system32 doesn't exist on my boot.wim, probably because this is an x64 ISO image. I modified actionfile.txt like so:

Code: Select all
rename //setup.exe setup.new
rename //sources/setup.exe setup.new
mkdir //windows/system32
add //windows/system32 winpeshl.ini
mkdir //sources/new
add //sources/new install.cmd


That led to the following output:
Code: Select all
Renaming file //setup.exe to setup.new
Renaming file //sources/setup.exe to setup.new
Adding dir //windows/system32 to add
Opening output file
Copying resources
Writing metadata
Writing lookup table
Writing additional lookup table
Writing XML
Writing new header


It looks more correct that way; we'll see if it actually works. I'll try to post here whether it works or not.
Last edited by tblancher on Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tblancher
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:03 am

Re: updatewim show error

Postby tblancher » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:38 pm

For some reason, updatewim generates a corrupt Windows IMage. I used the imagex tool from http://wimlib.sourceforge.net/ to add and modify the components of boot.wim, and that seems to have worked much better.

EDIT: Fixed URL for BBcode
tblancher
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:03 am


Return to Ultimate Deployment Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron