Password UDA Option?

This forum discusses topics about the Ultimate Deployment Appliance

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Password UDA Option?

Postby appleton1 » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:00 am

Hi everyone.

Was just wondering is it possible to password off the UDA menu and add a boot menu time out option, eg 10 seconds.
I've heard of menu.c32, though I'm not sure if it's compatible with the UDA. Which files would I need to edit?

I'm more of a Windows user at the moment (linux noobie), so I'm using WinSCP for data transfer and notepad for text edits etc.

I am planning to use this in education. Boot order for PC's is set to hard disk first, but students could still use F12 at POST to gain access to PXE boot/UDA.

The version of UDA that I am using is Aviad's - great bit of kit. :-)

Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris :-)
appleton1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Password UDA Option?

Postby danny » Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:29 pm

On most computers today you can set up bios to boot from harddisk first, and then you just have to hit F12 during the bios splash screen to pxe boot.
danny
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:52 am

Re: Password UDA Option?

Postby appleton1 » Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:09 pm

danny,

yep that's what I have done. However, it doesn't take much for a student to press F12 as well. Some POST splash screens even make it obvious and say press F12 for network etc. I'm looking for a password/timeout input screen before the pxe menu appears.

Cheers,

Appleton1.
appleton1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:44 am

Re: Password UDA Option?

Postby danny » Tue Apr 07, 2009 4:19 pm

since uda uses pxelinux i guess a google search for : pxelinux password menu
would give you what you need.
that being said the password would problary have to be in one of the config files shared by tftpd so its still posible to use a tftp client download the config files find the password and gain access it just makes it harder.
danny
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:52 am

Re: Password UDA Option?

Postby metalac » Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:43 pm

hello

first of all i would like to apologise for hijacking this thread.

i have a problem with menu password. well the problem is that i don`t know what is the password. i noticed under system/pxe that password line is commented and it should be test. but even if i uncomment that line the password is not test, or if i change it to something else still nothing.

best regards ivan

btw i`m using uda 2.0 build 17 on windows 7/xp host via vmplayer
metalac
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:12 pm

Re: Password UDA Option?

Postby obiron » Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:22 pm

I have the same question, what is the pxe boot pw?
obiron
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: Password UDA Option?

Postby Native » Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:34 am

Make sure you've set up a template, if you have one setup already you may want to delete it and make a new one.
Native
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:55 pm


Return to Ultimate Deployment Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron