Install on a non-virtual box

This forum discusses topics about the Ultimate Deployment Appliance

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby danboid » Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:31 am

BINGO!

Thanks for sticking it out and answering my 101 questions the_dude - I have now successfully installed XP (SP3) via UDA 1.4 and I am WELL chuffed! Gotta love anything that can minimise the amount of time I waste installing bleedin' windoze - in fact its a regular part of my job, sadly. Die MS, die!! ;)

If anyone else reading this thread is having a similar issue with a network driver missing or not being found, make sure the case of the .inf and .sys driver filenames matches exactly what UDA is searching for in the tftp logs and copy the drivers to your network share (as the_dude has already stated) then you need to make UDA aware of them by adding them from the Services -> BINL -> Add Driver menu - which I'd not seen until the-dudes previous comment prompted me to search for it.

I just completed an XP install with a customised .iso with SP3, hotfixes and driverpacks all rolled in but the driverpacks install part failed- I skipped over the error message (something like 'can't find 7z.exe' iirc) as I was too eager to see if the install was going to complete. Whats the craic with driverpacks? Any special technique to get it to work?
danboid
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby the_dude » Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:35 pm

Never tried installing driverpacks. Windows installation can be told to retrieve its source from a network share, but the driverpacks rolled in probably assume that they are on a cdrom or a local disk...
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby HaTaX » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:24 pm

the_dude wrote:2.0 problem:
Same story, you should be looking for a file called:
Code: Select all
/var/public/tftproot/windows5/xp_extra/KDCOM.DLL

And again check out if the uppercase/lowercase is the same!


Having the same issue with 2.0b5, it's looking for the uppercase filename, and only the lowercase filename is in the directory. Here's my tftp output:
Code: Select all
Sep 14 17:04:24 uda20 in.tftpd[16548]: RRQ from 10.0.0.104 filename \windows5\R2x86\i386\halmacpi.dl_ remapped to /windows5/R2x86/i386/halmacpi.dl_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: remap: input: \windows5\R2x86\i386\ntkrnlmp.ex_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5\R2x86\i386\ntkrnlmp.ex_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86\i386\ntkrnlmp.ex_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86/i386\ntkrnlmp.ex_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86/i386/ntkrnlmp.ex_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: remap: done
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16549]: RRQ from 10.0.0.104 filename \windows5\R2x86\i386\ntkrnlmp.ex_ remapped to /windows5/R2x86/i386/ntkrnlmp.ex_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: input: \windows5\R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5\R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86/i386\KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86/i386/KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: rule 7: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86_extra/KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: remap: done
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: RRQ from 10.0.0.104 filename \windows5\R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DL_ remapped to /windows5/R2x86_extra/KDCOM.DL_
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16550]: sending NAK (1, File not found) to 10.0.0.104
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: input: \windows5\R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5\R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86/i386\KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86/i386/KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: rule 7: rewrite: /windows5/R2x86_extra/KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: remap: done
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: RRQ from 10.0.0.104 filename \windows5\R2x86\i386\KDCOM.DLL remapped to /windows5/R2x86_extra/KDCOM.DLL
Sep 14 17:04:25 uda20 in.tftpd[16551]: sending NAK (1, File not found) to 10.0.0.104



So the question is what needs to be changed in the rewrite rule that will make it look for lower and uppercase filenames? I could just open the ISO and rename them all to lowercase as well I suppose..
HaTaX
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 9:34 pm

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby PlasmaFlow » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:30 pm

padonker wrote:Hi,
Is it possible to install this on a non-virtual machine? I'd like to have this physical, not virtual.
I downloaded UDA Version 1.4 in the assumption that this was a normal scripted install

Thanks
Patrick


I agree I would like to see an RPM of this server instead of a VM Ware server.
PlasmaFlow
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:15 pm

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby ft17 » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:50 am

how about installation with fog cloning in ubuntu server? anyone?
ft17
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:43 am

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby Tecchie » Mon May 20, 2013 6:03 pm

I can't seem to start a new topic, but here goes.

I would like to install the UDA on a physical machine. Is there any way we can get ahold of an ISO to boot and install from?
WHY DOES THIS HAVE TO BE A VIRTUAL MACHINE???? :mrgreen: :oops:
Tecchie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:46 pm

Re: Install on a non-virtual box

Postby Tecchie » Mon May 20, 2013 6:04 pm

I can't seem to start a new topic, but here goes.

I would like to install the UDA on a physical machine. Is there any way we can get ahold of an ISO to boot and install from?
WHY DOES THIS HAVE TO BE A VIRTUAL MACHINE???? :mrgreen: :oops:
Tecchie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:46 pm

Re: Physical UDA

Postby llbranco » Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:58 pm

the_dude wrote:1. Run the script /var/public/bin/package-1.4.sh
this will create a file /tmp/uda-1.4.tar wich you'll need to setup the uda on a physical system after installing the OS.

2. Download the FedoraCore 5 DVD and use the kickstart file f5min.cfg inside the tar file you made in the previous step as the kickstart file.

3. Copy the f5min.cfg to a floppy and rename it to ks.cfg You may need to change some stuff in the kickstart file, like for instance when you are installing to IDE disks...

4. The boot from the DVD and type 'ks' after the boot command prompt (leave out the quotes) You should get a minimal fedora core 5 install then.

5. When the installation has finised (and after the final reboot) copy the tar archivefrom step 1 to the /tmp directory of the physical system, and then
cd /tmp
tar -xvf uda1.4.tar
cd uda-1.4
./upgrade-1.4.sh

You should then have a physical UDA...

Good luck!



thank you

but, what kind of changes i must to do on "kickstart file"?

is possible to make it easier? :mrgreen:
llbranco
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:52 pm

Previous

Return to Ultimate Deployment Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron