Install 64 Bit Windows

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Install 64 Bit Windows

Postby DurrantsIT » Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:24 pm

Hi,

I'm new to using the UDA, it looks great and I'm hoping its something that we can use in our company.

I'm trying to deploy a 64-bit windows server but its not working, when I try to configure an OS and click on ok I get the below at the end of the page.

Getting Kernel and boot files
startrom.n12
startrom.n1_ not found trying the driver.cab
File DRIVER.CAB not found ERRORERROR

What does this mean? I assume its because I'm using a 64-bit iso image?
DurrantsIT

Re: Install 64 Bit Windows

Postby mmaniscalco » Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:21 pm

While this is a 2 year old question I was wondering if anyone has installed win2k3 64 bit OS.

It seems the directory structure for the 64 bit OS is slightly different on the CD.

There is another directory called amd64 which has most of the install files. The kernel boot files still sit in the i386 directory. I have been working on a solution, but I have now hit a brick wall.

I get the following error when trying to install.

File e1G5132e.sys caused an unexpected error (21) at
line 4214 in d:\nt\base\boot\setup\setup.c.

Press any key to continue.

It then fails to install and just reboots to start all over again.

I believe e1G5132e.sys is a network driver, but I'm not positive. The ISO I have installs fine if I mount it and just let it run from CD. I'm also using a VMware image to do this.

Any ideas on how to PXE boot a 64 bit image of windows? What I am specifically looking for are what files are needed from which directory, and where they need to be?

Thank for any info. I'm going to keep trying anyways.
mmaniscalco

Postby mmaniscalco » Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:36 pm

mmaniscalco wrote:
I get the following error when trying to install.

File e1G5132e.sys caused an unexpected error (21) at
line 4214 in d:\nt\base\boot\setup\setup.c.

Press any key to continue.

Figured out what was wrong.