Windows 7 Support

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Windows 7 Support

Postby the_dude » Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:08 pm

Hello all!

Today I've released Windows 7 deployment support in beta. Find it in the download section of this site and let me know what you think in this thread!
The download (38K) is a patch for build 17 and can be installed trough System->Upgrade in the web-interface of your UDA.
Please remember that there may not be an upgrade path to the final windows 7 support so you better make a snapshot before installation or try it out on a fresh install of build 17.

The dude
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby roottaker » Tue Jan 04, 2011 4:20 pm

I am very interested in trying this out...

I am currently at version 2.0_Build14. Would it be safe to upgrade from that version to this beta? If not are the other update packages available to get me to 2.0Build17 first?

Thanks
roottaker
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:21 pm

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby the_dude » Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:20 pm

I'm afraid not.
Build 17 is the final uda 2.0 build, all previous builds are beta builds,
I'm not planing on creating upgrade paths from beta versions to final releases...
You may want to start with a fresh build 17, patch it with the build 19 and then go ahead and test it...
When done testing, just throw it out...

Good luck!
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby notafake » Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:51 am

I'm now trying to get the Win7 deployment working over UDA, using our own win dhcp server. I wasn't able to open a new Thread so i just answer it here.
First I set the two options:
# Enable the option 066 Boot Server Host Name, and set the empty string value to be the IP address of your UDA
# Enable the option 067 Bootfile Name, and set the empty string to be, pxelinux.0
As seen here: http://www.rtfm-ed.co.uk/2007/05/15/switching-the-uda-to-use-microsoft-dhcp/.
The beta patch (for sure) is installed and i added a 32-bit Windows 7 Enterprise as a new OS and created a first basic template out of it.
If i choose PXE-Booting now, the dhcp is correctly "forwarding" me to the "boot server".
Choosing the WIn7 OS there are different problems now:
1st. it downloads WDSNBP (witch is needed AFAIK)
2nd. It chooses the wrong Architecture (x64).
Then, trying to contact my UDA, there^s the failure "No response form Windows Deployment Services server"
The "TFTP download failded" error is appending to the not existing server connection i think.

UDA running on a ESXi and the testmachine is a blank created virtual machine on the same esxi, where i choosed "windows 7 32-bit" of course.

I will now try to use another (new created) OS (maybe win7 standard) and different New virtual Machines (interested what happens if i really take the 64-bit version).
If you got anything helpful, please tell me, i will update this thread if i got something new.

Greetings

UDPATE: After i removed the special characters (_ and - ) in the iso-filename the machine started and stopped having a problem with the network drivers. first time i was able to installt hem, now no more.
going on...


UPDATE: I've already seen the finish-line, then there was this error witch came after the 2nd time forwards (displayed in a windows command line)
"
Network Driver not found.
Try type in the following:
wpeinit
drvload x: \sources\uda\neteamd.inf
"
There were some other commands i don't remember, but x: is the local created partition for windows. the First time this commands loaded the drivers for me and a windows prompt failure says:
WIndows Could not collect information for (OSImage) since the specified image file [i:\windows7\Enterprise32bit\sources\insatll.wim] does not exist.

Running a second time it stops cause the network driver was not found and also they're solution typing in these commands (and loading the drivers) only worked the frist time. also searchd the netamd.inf witch is the missing driver-file, without success.

So i deleted and re-created the templates and OS (there were times this worked, today) and now it stops cause it uses already at start the wrong path to download the pxeboot.com from.
"
Downloaded WDSNBP....
Architecture: x64
WSDNBP started using DHCP Referral.
Contacting Server: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (Gateway: 0.0.0.0).
Contacting Server: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
TFTP Download: pxelinux.cfg\templates\Test02\pxeboot.com
"

(Test02 was a template witch i deleted one-two hours bevore. I absolutly don't know why it wan'ts to take this one or where i got to change it)

It seems like i'm pretty alone trying this, anyway i would be glad if someone has a little help for me. There are 2 days between now and my next working-day, hopefully someone detected this and knows how/why/if this (doesn't) works.
Last edited by notafake on Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby burner » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:25 am

notafake wrote:I'm now trying to get the Win7 deployment working over UDA, using our own win dhcp server. I wasn't able to open a new Thread so i just answer it here.
...
It seems like i'm pretty alone trying this, anyway i would be glad if someone has a little help for me. There are 2 days between now and my next working-day, hopefully someone detected this and knows how/why/if this (doesn't) works.

I'll be trying the same thing next day or two. Will post my findings. Can't see your screenshots, though.
burner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby burner » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:34 pm

ok, it's not working for me either. I think WDSNBP detected architecture is irrelevant. The important part is that a client keeps looking for files directly in 'tftproot' directory, and they are not there. I was able to get past 'tftp download failed' error by doing
Code: Select all
ln -s pxelinux.cfg/templates/win7_1/pxeboot.com
ln -s pxelinux.cfg/templates/win7_1/bootmgr.exe
ln -s pxelinux.cfg/templates/win7_1/default/bcd

but then a windows loader starts, and it can't find anything, too
logs:
Code: Select all
Jan 27 18:11:06 uda in.tftpd[4128]: RRQ from 192.168.201.228 filename bootmgr.exe
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: remap: input: \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /Boot/Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: remap: done
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: RRQ from 192.168.201.228 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4155]: sending NAK (1, File not found) to 192.168.201.228
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4156]: remap: input: \boot\bcd
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4156]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /boot\bcd
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4156]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /boot/bcd
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4156]: remap: done
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4156]: RRQ from 192.168.201.228 filename \boot\bcd remapped to /boot/bcd
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4156]: sending NAK (1, File not found) to 192.168.201.228
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: remap: input: \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /Boot/Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: remap: rule 0: rewrite: /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: remap: done
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: RRQ from 192.168.201.228 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Jan 27 18:12:02 uda in.tftpd[4157]: sending NAK (1, File not found) to 192.168.201.228

it should have searched in windows7/win7_1 directory.
burner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby notafake » Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:01 am

@burner: Yes my freehoster kicked my account and so are my screenshots, i'll upload them directly.

Looking at my screenshots he try's to load from pxelinux.cfg/templates/Test02/pxeboot.com
sadly, Test02 is (no more) a template, do you know where he gets the information about the template-name?

Edit:
I try to explain my main problem with new screenshots:

My two vm's (left side test pc, right side UDA) and the uda showing the file /var/public/tftproot/pxelinux.cfg/default. There we see one template (that's correct) and his path to the .menu item (also correct).
http://img262.imageshack.us/f/uda01.png/

But after choosing the template it always searches the file Test02/pxeboot.com witch doesn't exists (no more)

http://img822.imageshack.us/f/uda02.png/

So after some hours searching, i decided to reinstall (3rd time) my uda. Cause this is a short proccess i know now that this one works till here
http://img12.imageshack.us/i/uda03.png/
Why the old one always took the false template i don't know. So i try to type in these commands witch are listed below but there came an error.
SO i searched the path, cause this is a local one, i don't know at witch time he should copie this "netamd.inf"
http://img822.imageshack.us/f/uda04.png/
maybe this helps someone out, possibly he could then help me ^^
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby burner » Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:26 pm

I've been able to boot into windows bootloader, no more yet
burner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby notafake » Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:36 pm

Means you already saw the "windows loading" but not the loading with windows logo and then command line?
I changed nothing to go till here, just added os (win7 enterprise) and template and started over win-dhcp server via scope-options 066 & 077 like i wrote in posts bevore
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby notafake » Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:44 am

Last friday, at 5.24PM, it worked using a USB stick to load the drivers from. This is auto-mounted as C: in WinPE. BUT i will post a well-formated solution "how to deploy windows 7 with UDA beta", as a new thread if this is possible (mr. admin, can i?) or here as response if needed.
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby the_dude » Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:11 pm

Sounds like you're using a USB stick to load the drivers from.

Sorry for the bad documentation, but here's what you should do:

you're supposed to upload the drivers through the System->WindowsPE menu
Hit the Add button there and choose the inf and sysfile you were using from the USB stick.

Once you've done that go to the OS menu, select the windows 7 flavor you've created and and activate the driver you've just uploaded.
This will re-create the boot.wim and add the drivers in there, so they will be available during the network boot....

Then try again, and please post your findings!
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby the_dude » Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:24 pm

@notafake:
The reason why the UDAis searching for the old template directory is because the binl service searches the tftp log to where the last request for a wdsnbp came from. Then it tells the client to download the BCD file in the same directory.

Your new templates have probably not been succesfull in downloading the wdsnbp.
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby burner » Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:07 am

I wasn't able to get it working after all. Had to install several copies manually. It just won't work past bootloader, complaining about missing drivers. Can't upload any drivers, either: the "upload" button does just nothing in any browser I tried.
burner
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby notafake » Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:41 am

Had the driver issue also, made it working including the driver package directly into the boot image in the windows 7 iso.
I'll start writing a full tutorial how to deploy windows 7 with uda right now, EDIT: i finished, just goto there
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Windows 7 Support

Postby notafake » Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:49 am

I got a problem adding a 2nd windows 7 OS. At least i think the problem is there:
Adding one isn't a problem. While doing the same for a 2nd system, it just gives me this screen

http://img140.imageshack.us/i/uda.png/

without any information (as usual "found bootdir" or "copied drivers successfull") and nothing happens. "Chanceling" clicing again on the "OS" button lets me create a OS with the same name! After the 3rd time, looking at the tftproot/windows7 dir i found the two folders "flavour" and "flavour_extra" with theyr content but on webinterface it's not shown.
Is this a bug in the Interface or a general problem having two windows 7 OS?
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Next

Return to OS Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron