Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby nobird » Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:18 pm

Hello everyone,

is it, oder would it be possible to uda Windows Vista / Windows 2008 ?

thnx

ps: great tool !!!
nobird
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:27 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby promodus » Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:23 pm

I've gotten vista to partially work.
You must use a Vista VM, the network card is an Intel E1000.
(The pcnet adapter does not have a driver within the installer)
Up until the choice of what OS... which will use RPC back to WDS to query what is available. I believe if you modify the boot.wim images this can be bypassed all together.

I packet sniffed the deployment of vista from WDS and copied the necessary files over.

Apr 8 11:14:23 boot in.tftpd[13558]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename Boot/x86/hdlscom2.com
Apr 8 11:14:24 boot in.tftpd[13559]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename bootmgr.exe
Apr 8 11:14:25 boot in.tftpd[13560]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Apr 8 11:14:25 boot in.tftpd[13560]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:14:25 boot in.tftpd[13561]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Apr 8 11:14:25 boot in.tftpd[13562]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \boot.ini remapped to /boot.ini
Apr 8 11:14:25 boot in.tftpd[13562]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:14:25 boot in.tftpd[13563]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \boot.ini remapped to /boot.ini
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13569]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\BCD remapped to /Boot/BCD
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13569]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13570]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\BCD remapped to /Boot/BCD
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13571]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13571]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13572]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13573]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \hiberfil.sys remapped to /hiberfil.sys
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13574]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\x86\Images\boot.wim remapped to /Boot/x86/Images/boot.wim
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13575]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Boot.SDI remapped to /Boot/Boot.SDI
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13574]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13575]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:14:40 boot in.tftpd[13576]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Boot.SDI remapped to /Boot/Boot.SDI
Apr 8 11:14:41 boot in.tftpd[13577]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\x86\Images\boot.wim remapped to /Boot/x86/Images/boot.wim
Apr 8 11:15:06 boot in.tftpd[13585]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf
Apr 8 11:15:06 boot in.tftpd[13585]: tftp: client does not accept options
Apr 8 11:15:06 boot in.tftpd[13586]: RRQ from 1.0.0.106 filename \Boot\Fonts\wgl4_boot.ttf remapped to /Boot/Fonts/wgl4_boot.ttf

Client side I see Vista loading and this error:
Image
richard at promodus dot net
promodus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:00 pm


Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby promodus » Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:50 am

Started this thread on the win builder forums:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/?showtopic=4969
promodus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:00 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby promodus » Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:19 am

This here pretty much explains it:
http://technet2.microsoft.com/WindowsVi ... x?mfr=true

I've gotten Vista PE to load, I can map a share to my installation media and install vista no problems.

All I have left to do is add the automated script.
promodus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:00 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby the_dude » Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:09 pm

That's great news! Let us know how to do it! I'm busy creating a new UDA where we can easily add new OS-es and flavors, so when we know how, it would be easier to add it to the new script/structure of UDA... (But don't wait for me, the new stuff could easily take several months...)
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby promodus » Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:45 pm

You will need a windows environment to prepare the Vista PE boot image

1. Download the Vista WAIK
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=c7d4bc6d-15f3-4284-9123-679830d629f2&DisplayLang=en

2. Start → All Programs → Microsoft Windows AIK → Windows PE Tools Command Prompt
Code: Select all
  mkdir C:\Temp
  call copype.cmd x86 C:\Temp\Boot
  del /Q etfsboot.com
  move ISO\boot\boot.sdi boot.sdi
  rmdir /S /Q ISO
  imagex /mount winpe.wim 1 mount
  copy mount\Windows\Boot\PXE\pxeboot.n12 pxeboot.n12
  copy mount\Windows\Boot\PXE\bootmgr.exe bootmgr.exe
  copy mount\Windows\System32\bcdedit.exe bcdedit.exe
  imagex /unmount mount
  rmdir /Q mount
  bcdedit -createstore BCD
  set BCDEDIT=bcdedit -store BCD
  %BCDEDIT% -create {ramdiskoptions} -d "Ramdisk options"
  %BCDEDIT% -set {ramdiskoptions} ramdisksdidevice boot
  %BCDEDIT% -set {ramdiskoptions} ramdisksdipath \Boot\boot.sdi
  for /f "tokens=3" %%i in ('%BCDEDIT% -create -d "Windows PE" -application osloader') do set GUID=%%i
  %BCDEDIT% -set %GUID% systemroot \Windows
  %BCDEDIT% -set %GUID% detecthal Yes
  %BCDEDIT% -set %GUID% winpe Yes
  %BCDEDIT% -set %GUID% osdevice ramdisk=[boot]\Boot\winpe.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
  %BCDEDIT% -set %GUID% device ramdisk=[boot]\Boot\winpe.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
  %BCDEDIT% -create {bootmgr} -d "Windows Boot Manager"
  %BCDEDIT% -set {bootmgr} timeout 30
  %BCDEDIT% -set {bootmgr} displayorder %GUID%
  del /Q bcdedit.exe


3. Copy C:\Temp\Boot to TFTP root
structure should be similar:
Code: Select all
/Boot/pxeboot.n12
/Boot/bootmgr.exe
/Boot/BCD
/Boot/boot.sdi


4. Add boot file to your pxelinux configuration:
Code: Select all
pxe Boot\pxeboot.n12


5. Start → All Programs → Microsoft Windows AIK → Windows PE Tools Command Prompt
You'll need to modify your winpe.wim

Code: Select all
imagex /mountrw C:\Temp\Boot\winpe.wim 1 c:\Temp\Boot\mount


then modify startnet.cmd
Code: Select all
notepad C:\Temp\Boot\mount\Windows\System32\startnet.cmd


add lines like
Code: Select all
net use v: \\server\share\vistafilesfromdvd
net use u: \\server\share\unattendedanswerfile
v:
setup.exe /unattend:u:\unattendedanswerfile


When you're finished:
Code: Select all
imagex /unmount /commit c:\Temp\Boot\mount


6. Copy your modified winpe.wim to your tftp boot server
/Boot/winpe.wim

7. Unattended file:
http://download.microsoft.com/download/d/0/2/d0209582-96c4-44d7-8615-84b5d282d88a/WAIK_doc_update_1.zip
inside the zip file you will find unattend.chm (a windows help file)
Last edited by promodus on Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
promodus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:00 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby aviadra » Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:18 pm

for /f "tokens=3" %%i in ('%BCDEDIT% -create -d "Windows PE" -application osloader') do set GUID=%%i


this does not work if its not run from within a batch file... if u run it from a command line (on a vista OS) u need to drop one % sign.

other then that, step 4 is wrong, and doesn’t work like that. u can chain the MS pxe boot loader to pxelinux if u use the PXE command in the pxeconfig.cfg/default file.
so the syntax would b:

LABLE winpe
pxe pxeboot.n12

or

LABLE winpe
pxe pxeboot.com

(The difference being that with the n12 extension the boot loader doesn’t ask the user to hit F12 in order to continue the network boot process)


this info came from HPA (the creator of pxelinux) with one note, it has to have ver 3.51 or higher.
Last edited by aviadra on Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
aviadra
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:53 am

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby promodus » Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:41 pm

Sweet, thanks for the tip! Have you had success with this? Share your experience. How many machines have you installed using this?

Yes, if you run that from the command line you do need to drop one %
promodus
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:00 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby aviadra » Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:06 am

Well I didn’t install any PCs with it... just did this thing as an exercise...and also this gives u winPE with a command prompt, the way I did it using the WAIK.
A friend asked me to, so I did it. And he doesn’t deploy vista this way either... he uses it to have the 32 bit version of ghost run on top of it...

Tried to use the WDS wim image, but it complained about not reaching the WDS server… I’ll b waiting for the dude on this one, but for me? It’s more likely I’ll install WDS in mixed mode and inject the PXElinux.0 kernel + menus, rather than use UDA in a real AD able environment
aviadra
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:53 am

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby rolomite » Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:47 am

Hey guys,

Im getting an error when I enter the syntax in step. the error says:

C:\WAIK\Tools\PETools>imagex /mountrw C:\Temp\Boot\winpe.wim 1 c:\Temp\Boot\mount

ImageX Tool for Windows
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp. 1981-2005. All rights reserved.

Mounting (RW): [C:\Temp\Boot\winpe.wim, 1] -> [c:\Temp\Boot\mount]

Error mounting image (RW):
Either the mount path does not exist, or the specified path contains critical
system files.

can anyone tell me why thats happening?

thanks
rolomite
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:42 am

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby danny » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:22 pm

you just need to make the dir mount first, eg mkdir mount

nice guide was looking for something like this, worked like a charm
danny
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:52 am

win 7

Postby b0b » Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:45 pm

I have a windows 7 installation image. It doesn't have any i386 folder. So confguring as winXP throughs up a cannot find sourcedir error. Inside somewhere, the cd has boot.wim and install.wim. Can anybody please tell me what to do? :cry:
b0b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby Roknrol » Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:24 pm

Is there any possibility of getting Vista/Windows 7 support for UDA? I've snooped around the Forum a bit (as well as a judicious amount of Googling) and haven't found any luck. I'm using the Beta version of UDA 2.0, but I'm more than willing to roll back to 1.4 if need be...just looking for a solution :)

Thanks!
Roknrol
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:00 pm

Re: Windows Vista and Windows 2008 per UDA

Postby aviadra » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:38 pm

You're better off using images instead...

"The dude" and I have discussed this and we came to the conclusion that the licensing issue for the winPE part and reverse engineering MS, makes it such that UDA has no real advantage over Microsoft's WDS.

Because WDS is a free part of the windows server, and you're probably going to have at least one on your network, it would be better to use it if you want the flat install of any kind of windows.
However, as I said in the beginning if you don’t want to go the MS route and still need to install many computers, imaging is your safest bet and it takes a lot less time than a network flat install.
Also network installations have touchy areas sometimes.

I can recommend the FOG project because we use it in our company for some time now.
It has been proven to be very stable and supports a lot of hardwares out of the box.
FOG can dump both windows and Linux images on machines and it centrally manages the clients from a webGUI.

But enough FOG propaganda… i hope I answered your question.
aviadra
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:53 am

Next

Return to OS Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron