Please Explain how to add network drivers

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby mmaxxzaxx » Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:37 pm

Hi there,
I have zero knowledge of linux os but my learning curve is very steep (lol)! I have so far managed to boot (only boot) an unattended xp from the UDA running in XP but I see an error stating that the network drivers could not be found. I had skimmed the entire forum before I post this without any solid help. I wish that someone could show me how to add the network drivers to the uda step-by-step. Please help me here as I am almost at point of my goal to deploy xp from the network but this glitch has taken me 4 days now. Thanks thanks!!!!

Note: I have all the collections of drivers uptodate inf and sys etc.
mmaxxzaxx
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:45 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby TheyCallMeZ » Fri Sep 18, 2009 6:44 pm

there are two ways... depending on your comfort level... I am using 2.0 beta 5 and do not know if it is different in 1.4

you can go into the web interface, then services, and click on the BINL Service and hit Configure
you will see an add driver button. you can upload 1 inf and 1 sys file at a time... annoying... but functional
then I am not 100% sure but you may have to restart the binl service...

the other option is to use something like WinSCP to connect to the machine and upload your files into the /var/public/tftproot/windows5/[FLAVOR]_inf and /var/public/tftproot/windows5/[FLAVOR]_sys directories

then SSH in and run /var/public/bin/infparser2.py [FLAVOR]
and restart BINL from the web interface... I forget the commands right now but you could do it from your SSH Session

Hope this helps!
TheyCallMeZ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:15 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby mldkfa » Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:58 pm

I guess I have the same issue and nothing I add seems to work. I have tried it with 5 different nics, with danny's nt nic pack and the log always says no driver found and windows wont install. I also have slip streamed many, many, drivers into my winxp install cd. Is there something I'm missing? Btw, using 2.0beta.
mldkfa
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:47 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby StylusPilot » Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:13 am

Hi,

did you manage to get it figured out?

I am trying to install an nlited XP SP3 ISO with many NIC Drivers built in

Using Beta 5, I have added the drivers from Dannys Pack as well to the UDA2 server

no matter what as soon as the XP starts from PXE I get a message "The operating system image you selected does not contain the necessary drivers for your network card"

Any help guys? there must be something stupid I have missed.
StylusPilot
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:22 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby StylusPilot » Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:00 am

I got it figured out.

Thanks
StylusPilot
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:22 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby Always » Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:30 pm

Hey guys, love the software. Just wondering if there is a workaround for the lan drivers for windows? i.e a generic driver that will work on all nic cards?


Cheers
Always
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:41 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby jellekamma » Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:48 pm

StylusPilot wrote:Hi,

did you manage to get it figured out?

I am trying to install an nlited XP SP3 ISO with many NIC Drivers built in

Using Beta 5, I have added the drivers from Dannys Pack as well to the UDA2 server

no matter what as soon as the XP starts from PXE I get a message "The operating system image you selected does not contain the necessary drivers for your network card"

Any help guys? there must be something stupid I have missed.


I have over 7000+ drivers in UDA 2.0 Compiled and all. But still I receive the error as mentioned above.
Can someone help me out?
jellekamma
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:32 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby matte79 » Mon Mar 29, 2010 3:21 pm

the operating system image you selected does not contain the necessary drivers for your network adaper.
Try selecting a diffrent operating system image. If the problem presists, contact your system administrator.

Setup cannot continue. Press any key to exit.



Same thing do i get on:
Windows XP, 2000

I have not tested vista and windows 7 and 2003, 2008 server

UDA 2.0 build 14 dont seems to support Vista 2008 server
Vista and 2008 sewrver dont have i386 init so i cant fet that to work.


Soon one whole day gone to end and nothing works mor then yust but up to this frekoing message abow...

Any one know what to do ?
matte79
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:54 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby apex » Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:20 am

You need to add the drivers to your binl server, as shown in post #2 of this thread. The drivers also need to match perfectly.

You can find out exactly which driver you need by logging into your UDA appliance via the command line (ssh) and watching the binl logfile:

Code: Select all
tail -f /var/public/log/binl.log


If Windows can't find the network driver you'll see a message like this:

Code: Select all
Checking PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_D6148086
Checking PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168
Driver not found


In my case I have a Realtek 8111c NIC and the network drivers from the manufacturer didn't match exactly in the .inf file.

My original file had:
Code: Select all
PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_D6148086&REV_03

I removed the '&REV_03' part so i would get a match and it would load the driver. In other cases I've had to add a new line in the .inf file with the missing 'subsys' part. Probably you won't have this problem as long as you download the correct driver for your NIC.

If you've added your driver to the binl configuration for your OS flavor, you can double check by going to UDA -> Services -> binl -> Configure -> flavor -> Database. Search this page for the NIC/Vendor string that Windows is looking for. If it's there, great. If not, try adding the driver again until you see it in the database.

Also, this only installs the NIC driver for the actual PXE installation. If you do get Windows installed and running, it won't have a driver for your NIC unless Windows already supported it (which is just about never for me). If you have physical access to your machine you can install the driver by USB, cd-rom, etc. If not, you can use something like nLite to add the network drivers to your .iso. If you do this, you have to re-add your OS & template to UDA with the new .iso file.

I'm sorry this isn't more clear, but I hope it helps.
UDA 2.0 b14 - Working: UDBCD4Win 3.5 Live, BartPE 3.1.10a Live, Clonezilla 1.2.3-27 Live, Windows 2003 Server, openSUSE 11.2, Fedora 12, CentOS 5.4, Ubuntu 9.10, Debian 5.0.
apex
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby notafake » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:15 am

What i don't understand is (according to your 2nd post) witch inf and sys file i got to take?
One driver extracts 6 of both the binl webinterface lets me only upload one of each for 1 driver.
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby raykkonen » Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:09 pm

Hello,

I have one problem, Windows XP pro starting with UDA server when i run the machine start well, load pxe service, start blue screen of windows instalation and the first msg is: cant load lan drivers.

I go to web interface, services, load drivers .inf .sys of win xp, restart service but continue the problem.

Any solucion ?
raykkonen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby notafake » Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:57 am

Ignoring the russian viagra-spam post, i got to know where the drivers are for windows 7. As you said for older versions they are in /var/public/tftproot/windows5/[FLAVOR]_inf and /var/public/tftproot/windows5/[FLAVOR]_sys and _inf directories. Now if i do the same for Seven, the command /var/public/bin/infparser2.py [FLAVOR] replys that no file ...windows5/[FLAVOR]_extra/devlist.cache has been found.
According to my last post in this thread, i still don't know the correct folders for the sys and inf files and if i got to upload more than one of each, or even if i got to upload the .cab files also.
Please help me, i got the right driver but can't integrate it into winPE
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby the_dude » Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:11 pm

Hi Notafake,

You should be able to upload windows 7 drivers in the System->WinPE section of the web-interface...

Then you can activate the driver for the windows 7 OS-flavor you have created

Templates based on that flavor should then load the drivers automatically...
the_dude
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:03 pm

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby notafake » Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:21 pm

I don't know whether i had the false drivers or just wasn't able to upload them correctly, but including them into the iso as shown in my windows 7 tut worked for me.
Also, i really did not find a driver witch only needs ONE inf file and ONE sys file, and this was my main problem. Also if i did there was always a bluescreen (using the same driver i use now)
notafake
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:29 am

Re: Please Explain how to add network drivers

Postby johnsonmedley25 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:29 pm

can any one help me out with this thing , presently i m using windows, i want even to use linux, how can i install it, is it possible, do i have the facility of enabling the interney in that, pl help me out.
johnsonmedley25
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:06 pm


Return to Windows Drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron