Template problem

Share your thoughts on the UDA 2.0

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Template problem

Postby ironhide » Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:27 pm

Before I voice my problem I'd like to thank all the folks who have made this UDA.
I've been using this since I needed a soultion to build ESX 3.5 hosts in a predictable + reliable way.

I'm currently running UDA2.0 build 19.

I'm having a bit of trouble with the new support for Windows 7...
The following steps have been performed:

Create 1 Windows 7 flavor (I called it Win7)
Create 3 Templates which all use this Windows 7 flavor:
1 - Template Name: Win7_1
2 - Template Name: Win7_2
3 - Template Name: Win7_3

When I select the 1st, 2nd or 3rd template from the PXE menu it pupulates the template variable with the 1st template name.
I've checked the Win7_2 and Win7_3 .cmd files on the UDA and they all look correct - using the TEMPLATENAME variable in the .cmd file.

Does anybody know how I can change what the PXE menu uses to populate this variable?
ironhide
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:02 am

Re: Template problem

Postby smu » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:19 am

Hi,

Tried with 2 templates named "Win7" and "test", no problem here ...
Maybe your templates names are too similar ?
smu
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Location: Loire-Atlantique, France

Re: Template problem

Postby ironhide » Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:35 pm

Hi

thanks for the reply

I've just tried with a new template called Test and I still have the same problem.
I've also tried building 2 new UDAs, upgraded to build 19 and they both have the same problem

I do always use sub-templates too - maybe it has something to do with teh use of sub-templates.
Did you use sub-templates?

thanks for your time
ironhide
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:02 am

Re: Template problem

Postby ironhide » Mon Apr 02, 2012 9:46 pm

I tried removing the sub-templates - that changed nothing.

I then tried the following:

1 - Remove all the templates, sub-templates and the OS.
2 - Restart the UDA.
3 - Add OS
4 - Add template named Test1
5 - Add template named Test2

I start a machine with a pxe boot and get to the TFTP download bit.
It tells me that TFTP tried to download from pxelinux.cfg\templates\Win7_1\pxeboot.com

No matter what template I create it always points back to the 1st one I ever created (which I have now removed).
I've browsed the filesystem of in /var/public/tftproot but I can't see anywhere that this path is defined.

Does anyone know where the TFTP download paths are named please?
Even if I have to manually specify them at least it'll work.
ironhide
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:02 am

Re: Template problem

Postby smu » Wed Apr 04, 2012 5:42 pm

Hi,

I reproduced your configuration (test1 & test2), it's ok with my UDA.
As I can see, tftp menu files are stored in /var/public/tftproot/pxelinux.cfg/, as stated in /var/public/files/tftpd.conf.

Your problem looks like one I've encountered, maybe you should read my post : http://www.ultimatedeployment.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=406#p5288
smu
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Location: Loire-Atlantique, France

Re: Template problem

Postby ironhide » Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:37 pm

You're a hero.
That fix was exactly what was wrong.

I built a new UDA, followed your instruction to fix the lines in install.sh (using 2.0.20).
Upgrading worked and now every template + sub-template works exactly as they should.

Thank you so much for your time helping me out, I really appreciate it
ironhide
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:02 am

Re: Template problem

Postby smu » Sat Apr 07, 2012 6:14 am

You're welcome, thanks for posting back :)
smu
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:21 pm
Location: Loire-Atlantique, France


Return to UDA 2.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron