S.O.S! Help!

Share your thoughts on the UDA 2.0

Moderators: the_dude, Posters

Help help help Please.

Postby kojam » Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:13 am

Howdy all.
Absolute newbie beginner here.
Struggled through my finally getting this up and running in Virtualbox.
Can ping the IP of the Host computer that this vm is running on, Host machine can ping th uda2 vm IP, the Host machine can access the uda2 vm web interface no problem, I've created an XP iso file to deploy to my netbook, I've placed it on a cd that resides on the Host machine, I've placed a copy into a folder on the desktop of the host machine (forgot to mention Host is XP Pro SP3), i've turned off dhcp on my router, turned on the dhcp server on the uda2 vm, set up the range of IP's for the server to assign to devices.....I've restarted the dhcp server several times to make sure it's running.
I have no idea how to setup the various settings in the web interface. I cannot find a concise guide to help me quickly set it up so that the iso is able to deploy, AND I have no idea why my client cannot seem to talk uda2 to get an IP from dhcp. I don't know:

a) the client can connect to the uda vm, but cannot get an IP?

OR

b) the client doesn't even connect to uda2 vm at all?

Can you please spoon feed this Big Baby and tell him how to get this working?
How can I get this to function as a proper PXE so I can install my XP.iso to devices?
kojam

S.O.S! Help!

Postby kojam » Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:25 pm

Another reason why Apple sucks!
Wrote a very detailed description of my problem from my iPod, clicked on submit, and it's all gone! :x
Here I go again...

Struggled to install UDA2.0 in a virtualbox on my XP host laptop. Here's where I now stand:

- disabled dhcp on router
- made sure dhcp service starts in uda virtualbox running on XP host laptop
- made sure PXE service starts in uda virtualbox
- uda can sucessfully ping router, XP host IP
- XP host can access uda web interface